Automatic Control and Systems team

The "Automatic Control and Systems" team works around two main axes: identification and control of systems.

Within the framework of the identification, the team is working on modelling, identification and diagnosis of nonlinear systems governed by partial derivative equations. The aim is to bring knowledge of the system which is to be analysed, controlled, observed or supervised. Numerous developments led in the LIAS allow the team to propose new algorithms, to make their use easier, to improve their convergence and to give access to the physical knowledge of the systems. The team also works in the field of system diagnosis and has developed a useful supervision methodology via parameter estimation, mainly applied to electric machines. Moreover, due to the development of an original fractional integration operator, the team is deeply involved in the research on modelling and identification of diffusive interfaces.

The second axis is the control of multi input multi output (MIMO) systems.  A part of the work concerns the analysis, i.e. the research for numerically tractable conditions which permit to assess whether the system under study is stable or not, or whether it reaches some performance level (satisfactory transient behaviour, disturbance rejection, …) or not. Therefore the team is also interested in the control, i.e. the design of feedback control laws which allow the closed-loop system to attain the above-mentioned performances. The class of the systems which are studied in the LIAS is wide: It encompasses the linear and nonlinear systems, the uncertain systems, the fractional systems, the D systems, the time-delay systems, and so forth. Numerous practical applications are considered in the field of electrical engineering and renewable energy.

Scientific problems under study

  • Modelling and identification of:
    • MIMO continuous-time systems,
    • linear parameter-varying (LPV) systems,
    • diffusive interfaces.
  • Closed-loop identification; 
  • System diagnosis by parameter estimation and artificial intelligence; 
  • Analysis and control of:
    • fractional systems (non integer order models),
    • nD systems (repetitive processes, PDE),
    • descriptor, periodic and/or positive models,
    • time delay systems.
  • Robust pole placement; 
  • Active filtering.

Application domains

  • Transport (hybrid vehicles, flex fuel engines); 
  • Telecommunications; 
  • Management and distribution of energy (Smart Grids, ...); 
  • Renewable energy (solar, energy, wind turbines, marine turbines …); 
  • Machines électriques;
  • Power machines, electric motors;
  • Robotics (cable robot manipulators, haptic interfaces …); 
  • Heat exchangers; 
  • Waste water treatment; 
  • Virtual sensors; 
  • Control of fluid dynamics; 
  • Harmonics filtering on the electricity network.

Set up methods, techniques and approaches

  • System identification: output error, subspace algorithms, closed loop, continuous time neural networks, LPV and non linear model structure; initialisation of output error algorithms, convergence analysis, reinitialised partial moments, system identification using a priori information; 
  • Modelling: electric motors in faults, magnetic circuits, PDE based systems (partial differential equation); 
  • Simulation: finite element method, PDE based systems; 
  • Control: LMI approach, S-procedure and other KYP-like techniques,  complex parameter systems, quaternions, robust DU-stability, S-regularity, "Euler-Lagrange"-like approaches, eigenstructure assignment.

Contact

Team leaders: Olivier BACHELIER and Thierry POINOT

Equipe Automatique & Systèmes

L’équipe Automatique et Systèmes du LIAS travaille sur deux thèmes majeurs de l’automatique, à savoir l’identification et la commande des systèmes.

Dans le cadre de l’identification, l’équipe s’intéresse à la modélisation, l’identification et le diagnostic des systèmes non linéaires et des systèmes régis par des équations aux dérivées partielles. L’objectif est de fournir une connaissance du système que l’on souhaite analyser, commander, observer ou surveiller. Les nombreux développements conduits au LIAS permettent de proposer de nouveaux algorithmes, de faciliter leur utilisation, d’améliorer leur convergence et d’accéder à la connaissance physique. Des travaux sont également menés sur le diagnostic des systèmes par estimation paramétrique, essentiellement appliqués dans le domaine des machines électriques. Enfin, des recherches portent sur la modélisation et l'identification des interfaces de diffusion grâce à la définition originale d'un opérateur d'intégration fractionnaire.

La seconde problématique de l’équipe porte sur la commande des systèmes multivariables. Un travail consiste en l’analyse, c’est-à-dire la recherche de conditions numériquement exploitables qui permettent d’attester ou non de la stabilité des systèmes étudiés, ou encore d’attester d’un certain niveau de performances (performances transitoires ou rejet de perturbations). S’ensuit la commande, c’est-à-dire la recherche d’algorithmes de contre-réaction qui permettent d’atteindre les performances précédemment mentionnées. La classe des systèmes considérés est large : elle couvre les systèmes linéaires et non linéaires, les systèmes incertains, les systèmes fractionnaires, les systèmes multidimensionnels (nD), systèmes avec ou sans retard, etc. De nombreuses applications relèvent du génie électrique et de son utilisation dans le domaine des énergies renouvelables.

Problématique Scientifique

  • Modélisation et identification ;
    • des systèmes multivariables à représentation continue,
    • des systèmes à paramètres variant linéairement (LPV),
    • des interfaces de diffusion.
  • Identification en boucle fermée ;
  • Diagnostic des systèmes par estimation paramétrique et intelligence artificielle ;
  • Analyse et commande :
    • des systèmes fractionnaires (d’ordre non entier),
    • des systèmes multidimensionnels (procédés répétitifs, EDP),
    • des systèmes implicites, périodiques, positifs,
    • des systèmes à retards.
  • Placement robuste de pôles ; 
  • Contrôle actif. 

Domaines d'application

  • Transports (motorisation hybride, moteurs flex fuel,…) ; 
  • Télécommunications ; 
  • Gestion et distribution de l'énergie (réseaux intelligents d’énergie, comptage, facturation,…) ; 
  • Energies renouvelables (solaire, éolienne, hydrolienne,…) ; 
  • Machines électriques ; 
  • Robotique (robots à câbles, interfaces haptiques,…) ; 
  • Echangeurs de chaleur ; 
  • Traitement des eaux ; 
  • Capteurs logiciels ; 
  • Contrôle des écoulements ; 
  • Dépollution d’un réseau électrique.

Méthodes, Techniques et Approches Mises en œuvre

  • Identification : erreur de sortie, algorithmes des sous-espaces, en boucle fermée, réseaux de neurones à temps continu, modèles LPV et non linéaires ; initialisation des algorithmes à erreur de sortie, étude de convergence, moments partiels réinitialisés, identification avec information a priori ; 
  • Commande : approche LMI, S-procédure, lemme KYP,  systèmes à paramètres complexes, quaternions, DU-stabilité robuste, S-régularité, approche  "Euler-Lagrange", placement de structure propre ; 
  • Modélisation : machines électriques en défauts, circuits magnétiques, systèmes régis par des équations aux dérivées partielles ; 
  • Simulation : éléments finis, systèmes régis par des équations aux dérivées partielles.

Contact

Equipe dirigée par : Olivier BACHELIER et Thierry POINOT